June 5, 2008

  • Thursday Impressions I

    So I’m a giant impressionism fan.  Monet, especially, but I really love it all.  So I have some impressionism ties, like Monet’s waterlilies & Van Gogh’s Starry Night, which I wear on Thursdays – for no particular reason other than I enjoy it.  It seemed like a good idea to, therefore, post a painting on Thursdays in the spirit of this arbitrary tradition.

    Here’s Monet’s The Japanese Footbridge, from 1899:

    a0000671  

    This one has some sentimental meaning for me, too, so it’s one of my favorites.

Comments (7)

  • I’m pretty picky about my impressionism. I only like a few artists and even then I only like a few works. But, I’m not really an expert on what all has been done. I just remember going through in in my art classes and even my graphic classes.

  • The concept alone of impressionism, with the capture of light, time and movement by use of colour, is beautiful even on it’s own. Goddamnit I miss art..I’m a sculpture girl myself.

  • @M_eanwhile - I’m surprised; in my experience, people are typically all-or-nothing when it comes to impressionism.

    @woodenpeople - Just so.  I’ve always struggled with sculpture, but I know that’s a fault of mine, not the medium.

  • Imagine my surprise to stumble back here on a whim and see this piece of art, equally sentimental to me.
    *Thinking of you.

  • RYC: And get well to you, too. Are you still doing that food blog? I need a good recipe for sick-at-home pancakes.

  • Thank you, I can really appreciate a recipe by personal recommendation. I can guarantee the recipe will get use the night before I hope for a pancakey morning. Since I needed pancakes *stat*, and I also can’t bear the idea of shortcuts like Bisquick, I decided to use a scratch recipe I’ve used before that turns out nicely and comes out with a thick pancake that tastes of sugar cookie dough. I added chocolate chips and passed up maple syrup just because being sick at home and unable to do anything outside my house equals entitlement to decadence in my mind.

     Next weekend, however, my family does a monthly Big Saturday Breakfast with peameal bacon, eggs, Texas Toast and typically, pancakes. I’ll definitely be showing off the sourdough.

  • No, not in a practical sense. There is really no need for the baking soda but I kept it in to keep the flavor of real cookie dough in tact and genuine. I find the baking soda does affect the flavor. If you prefer it without, you can modify.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *